Dietger
Wissounig
Architekten

on off

Competition Sportspark Hüttenbrennergasse

The building site is located in an area characterised by herterogenic, open development from the 1970s to the 1990s. The situation is met with a reassuringly simple structure. Only a large roof seems to float above the lowered competition arena.

The building is oriented towards Schönaugasse via a generous plaza that slopes slightly away from the building, through which the main flow of visitors and athletes can be expected. The visitors’ level is at the level of the square, so that the street space, the square, the visitors’ level and the open areas become a dynamic (completely barrier-free) space for movement.  This flow is facilitated by the roof being completely detached from the ground. The entire building site thus becomes a partially covered sports area – the separation of hall and surroundings, users and passers-by is eliminated. Supply and disposal routes or fire brigade access lead via Hüttenbrennergasse, along the north side of the building and flow into Schönaugasse without crossing the main axis of pedestrian visitor flows.

The spacious square covered with prefabricated concrete slabs continues inside the hall in one area. The public space seems to flow through the hall.

The façade of glass and folded copper sheeting makes a scale and timeless statement in the surroundings, which are dominated by perforated façades. The covered plaza is drawn up to the centre of the building; where it changes to a lawn via a hard edge. The interior is characterised by a gridded wooden ceiling with a visible supporting structure. The construction, which spans over 66 metres, is spectacular on the one hand; on the other hand, it is calm and powerful in the rhythm of its supporting structure without bars or trusses. Glare-free lighting is provided by screens on two to three sides of the vertical glazing and by light-diffusing glazing of the skylights, depending on the pitch and use.

Styria-wide open, two-stage realisation competition, 5th place
2015, Styria Sports Union

<<

Dietger
Wissounig
Architekten

on off

Anerkennung beim Wettbewerb Sportpark Hüttenbrennergasse

Der Bauplatz liegt in einem von herterogener, offener Bebauung aus den 1970er bis 1990er Jahren geprägtem Gebiet. Begegnet wird der Situation mit einem beruhigend einfachen Baukörper. Lediglich ein großes Dach scheint über der abgesenkten Wettkampfarena zu schweben.

Das Gebäude orientiert sich über einen großzügigen vom Gebäude leicht abfallenden Platz zur Schönaugasse, über die der Besucher- und Sportlerhauptstrom zu erwarten ist. Die Besucherebene liegt auf Platzniveau wodurch Straßenraum, Platz, Besucherebene und Freibereiche zu einem dynamischen (vollständig barrierefreien) Bewegungsraum werden.  Dieser Fluss wird durch das vom Boden vollständig gelöste Dach begünstigt. Der gesamte Bauplatz wird somit zur teilweise gedeckten Sportfläche – die Trennung von Halle und Umgebung, Nutzern und Passanten aufgehoben. Ver- und Entsorgungswege bzw. Feuerwehrzufahrt führen über die Hüttenbrennergasse, entlang der Gebäudenordseite und münden in die Schönaugasse, ohne die Hauptachse der fußläufigen Besucherströme zu queren.

Der großzügige mit Betonfertigteilplatten gedeckte Platz setzt sich im Halleninneren in einer Fläche fort. Der öffentliche Raum scheint durch die Halle zu fließen.

Die Fassade aus Glas und gekantetem Kupferblech setzt ein maßstabs- und zeitloses Zeichen in der von Lochfassaden dominierten Umgebung. Der gedeckte Platz wird bis zur Gebäudemitte gezogen; wo er über eine harte Kante zur Rasenfläche wechselt. Der Innenraum wird von einer gerasterten Holzdecke mit sichtbarer Tragkonstruktion geprägt. Die über 66 Meter frei spannende Konstruktion ist einerseits spektakulär; anderseits in ihrer Rhythmik der Trägerkonstruktion ohne Stab und Fachwerke ruhig und kraftvoll. Blendfreiheit wird je nach Spielfeld und Nutzung durch Screens an zwei bis drei Seiten der vertikalen Verglasung sowie durch lichtstreuende Verglasung der Oberlichter erfüllt.

steiermarkweit offener, zweistufiger Realisierungswettbewerb, 5. Rang
2015, Sportunion Steiermark

<<